“Oh what a beautiful . . . (flood)!”

Flood in Norwalk!

That is right folks. Last night Sister Arakaki and I were riding home and we came across a flood…in the Target parking lot! There are some houses by the side, and it looked like that was where the water was coming from. We decided to bike back into it and see if anyone needed help. Luckily we don’t think it was coming from anyone’s home. It looked like it was coming from behind Target. We found a bunch of firefighters there and thought about offering help, but I’m sure they had it under control. 

One of the people who lives right near where it was flooding has a bunch of peacocks, and they were all screaming. It was an interesting scene.

More in the animal/nature department–this morning we buried a opossum. Yup, it smelled worst than anything I have ever smelled in my life. We saw this little rodent the other day when we were running, but we weren’t sure if he was playing opposum. We kept smelling something disgusting every time we rode our bikes over the hill next to the opposum. So this morning we buried it. Rest in peace, ugly little buddy.

Conference was great. I have never been so excited for conference in life haha. My favorite talks were given by President Eyring and Elder Holland. President Eyring’s talk was literally my personal study from the day before. I had been studying “Abide With Me Tis Eventide” and those scriptures in Luke 24. I mean, of course his insights were better than mine, but it was amazing to hear him speak and voice things that I had literally been thinking the morning before and expand upon those things as well. Elder Holland’s talk was so amazing. The way he makes Biblical stories come to life is so powerful. I have been trying to read my scriptures and think of the chapters like he would explain them. It is giving a whole new experience to my reading, and it is awesome. I just wish I had always read like this.

Well, I love you all. Transfers are this week. The Sisters in my apartment keep telling me I am going to get a call this week saying I will be training, but we will see haha. That would be stressful…

Love,

Sister Rackleff

 

Leave a comment